Go Back   V6 F-Body.com > Technical Discussion > Electrical
Electrical Electronics | Wiring | Dash | Lights

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-19-2017, 10:49 AM
xpbr2000's Avatar
xpbr2000 xpbr2000 is offline
Droner
LS PLUS Supporting Membership
Administrator


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mooreville, MS
Rank: Freaky Poster
Posts: 11,349
Default

i think 2 of them go to the firewall. those connect the pcm to the body which would also connect to the cluster and OBD port.
__________________

96 Camaro Cam'd anti-Coupe
Dyno'd @ 213 RWHP (NA)
"OperationX"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-19-2017, 10:52 AM
izzymasternumber izzymasternumber is offline


 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Rank: Private
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpbr2000 View Post
passenger kick panel there is 3 maybe 4 connectors



I looked there the only difference mine has wiring loom on it

Sent from my LG-LS993 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-19-2017, 10:55 AM
xpbr2000's Avatar
xpbr2000 xpbr2000 is offline
Droner
LS PLUS Supporting Membership
Administrator


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mooreville, MS
Rank: Freaky Poster
Posts: 11,349
Default

if the OBD2 port has no power then i'd start at those connectors and follow it to the dash obd port. there has to be damage between there and the problem areas. you might check fuses as well. i dont believe that the obd2 port or cluster is fused by itself but i could be wrong.
__________________

96 Camaro Cam'd anti-Coupe
Dyno'd @ 213 RWHP (NA)
"OperationX"
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-19-2017, 10:56 AM
xpbr2000's Avatar
xpbr2000 xpbr2000 is offline
Droner
LS PLUS Supporting Membership
Administrator


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mooreville, MS
Rank: Freaky Poster
Posts: 11,349
Default

whatever has made the obd2 port dead is most likely the same problem causing some of the cluster to be dead as well
__________________

96 Camaro Cam'd anti-Coupe
Dyno'd @ 213 RWHP (NA)
"OperationX"
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-19-2017, 10:57 AM
izzymasternumber izzymasternumber is offline


 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Rank: Private
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpbr2000 View Post
if the OBD2 port has no power then i'd start at those connectors and follow it to the dash obd port. there has to be damage between there and the problem areas. you might check fuses as well. i dont believe that the obd2 port or cluster is fused by itself but i could be wrong.
Yea I'll check again but one more electrical problem it my headlights only work in high beam no low beam

Sent from my LG-LS993 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-19-2017, 11:01 AM
xpbr2000's Avatar
xpbr2000 xpbr2000 is offline
Droner
LS PLUS Supporting Membership
Administrator


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mooreville, MS
Rank: Freaky Poster
Posts: 11,349
Default

everything connects right there at the passenger kick panel. but this all has to be related. when i get home tonight i'll look at the wire schematics and see where the obd2 gets its power. we can trace it back from there. i'll look at the cluster and low beams to see if they share anything. this can be something as stupid as a ground that they all share.
__________________

96 Camaro Cam'd anti-Coupe
Dyno'd @ 213 RWHP (NA)
"OperationX"
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-19-2017, 11:03 AM
izzymasternumber izzymasternumber is offline


 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Rank: Private
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpbr2000 View Post
everything connects right there at the passenger kick panel. but this all has to be related. when i get home tonight i'll look at the wire schematics and see where the obd2 gets its power. we can trace it back from there. i'll look at the cluster and low beams to see if they share anything. this can be something as stupid as a ground that they all share.
I hope I just bought it and I wasn't a huge fan but now I love it and want to have everything working properly

Sent from my LG-LS993 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-19-2017, 11:08 AM
xpbr2000's Avatar
xpbr2000 xpbr2000 is offline
Droner
LS PLUS Supporting Membership
Administrator


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mooreville, MS
Rank: Freaky Poster
Posts: 11,349
Default

That happens with fbodys.

Electrical issues are the worst.

i'll post tonight when i'm able to look at my book.
__________________

96 Camaro Cam'd anti-Coupe
Dyno'd @ 213 RWHP (NA)
"OperationX"
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-19-2017, 11:09 AM
izzymasternumber izzymasternumber is offline


 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Rank: Private
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpbr2000 View Post
That happens with fbodys.

Electrical issues are the worst.

i'll post tonight when i'm able to look at my book.
Thank you I appreciate it

Sent from my LG-LS993 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-19-2017, 11:49 PM
xpbr2000's Avatar
xpbr2000 xpbr2000 is offline
Droner
LS PLUS Supporting Membership
Administrator


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mooreville, MS
Rank: Freaky Poster
Posts: 11,349
Default

i've been looking at the wiring schematics for the gauges and i'm not coming up with much. Can you check the fuse 9 and fuse 7? Fuse 9 should say gauges, and fuse 7 should say pwr accy.
__________________

96 Camaro Cam'd anti-Coupe
Dyno'd @ 213 RWHP (NA)
"OperationX"
Reply With Quote

Go Back   V6 F-Body.com > Technical Discussion > Electrical
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 - 2018 V6F-Body.com