Go Back   V6 F-Body.com > Rides, Modifications & Racing > How To's
How To's Have a great writeup you would love to have posted? Post it here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-11-2009, 09:26 PM
Will's Avatar
Will Will is offline
Ghost Patrol
LS PLUS Supporting Membership


 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Rank: Colonel
Posts: 4,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRedBird View Post
Thats what I've been thinking, maybe finally get started on those fog lights I have...

Edit: btw, the shift boot is out of a grand am.
Nice! you dont have a fog light switch?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-11-2009, 09:31 PM
TheRedBird's Avatar
TheRedBird TheRedBird is offline
Gandhi


 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tallahassee, Fl
Rank: Master Sergeant
Posts: 1,192
Default

I don't have fog lights! lol
I bought some a while ago, then my brother dropped one and the lens shattered, now I'm contemplating fitting some more lexan over them both to serve as new lenses. Then I could have TWO buttons!
__________________

1995 Firebird V6.
SLP CAI, Flowmaster Catback...yup. Thats it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-11-2009, 09:32 PM
freakv6's Avatar
freakv6 freakv6 is offline
The Smokin' Palm


 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Scottsboro, AL
Rank: Lieutenant General
Posts: 5,627
Default

mulit-buttons ftmfw!

really though i am thinking of doing one for a fan switch and one for some fogs
__________________

|freakv6 12:21| bone will let people take his car out for joy rides at the g14
|Pace 12:22| I vote we take the freak out for some joyrides.
|freakv6 12:22| you can pace, then maybe you can drive the car afterwords
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-11-2009, 09:42 PM
97Bird's Avatar
97Bird 97Bird is offline
YOU FAIL


 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Rank: Private
Posts: 72
Default

i think i will have to cut my actual ash tray, because i need the room. my exhaust cut out has a long switch on it that wont allow the way you did it to close. if i mess up my tray, can i have your old one? PLEASSSEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!1
__________________
1997 Firebird W68 3.8l Auto
2005 Suzuki M50 Boulevard
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-11-2009, 09:59 PM
TheRedBird's Avatar
TheRedBird TheRedBird is offline
Gandhi


 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tallahassee, Fl
Rank: Master Sergeant
Posts: 1,192
Default

lol, just take the tray out completely, the panel just sits on the points where the tray sat. My ash tray is out of the car in that pic. If I was to mount it to the ash tray, it would be raised up a little more and not be as flush.
On a side note, if your button is too big, I'm sure you could just cut it off and wire it to a smaller switch, right? Go to autozone, they have SOO many different switch styles.
__________________

1995 Firebird V6.
SLP CAI, Flowmaster Catback...yup. Thats it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-11-2009, 11:08 PM
tkoforpresident's Avatar
tkoforpresident tkoforpresident is offline
Conservo-Ninja
LS Supporting Member


 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Buffalo, N.Y.
Rank: First Lieutenant
Posts: 2,401
Default

haaaaaaayyyy talk to me about how to put a boot on my auto shifter =(
__________________

93 3.4 Firebird
Pacesetter Headers, Flowmaster 80, Comp 1.6 RR, Custom Cam, Cloyes 2x Set, P&P Heads & Intakes, Ram Air Intake, Posi Rear w/3.42's and Disk Brakes, OBD-1 Swap.
Cam and Heads by 60Inclusive.com Tune By Wot-Tech.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-11-2009, 11:25 PM
Will's Avatar
Will Will is offline
Ghost Patrol
LS PLUS Supporting Membership


 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Rank: Colonel
Posts: 4,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronMan View Post
haaaaaaayyyy talk to me about how to put a boot on my auto shifter =(
Staple in front

Step one: Remove staple
Step two take off knob
Step three: Apply boot
Step four: Go back fro step two up
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-11-2009, 11:54 PM
TheRedBird's Avatar
TheRedBird TheRedBird is offline
Gandhi


 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tallahassee, Fl
Rank: Master Sergeant
Posts: 1,192
Default

I actually had to take the console off, then use some gorilla glue to hold the boot on from the underside of the console.
__________________

1995 Firebird V6.
SLP CAI, Flowmaster Catback...yup. Thats it.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-12-2009, 03:10 PM
Will's Avatar
Will Will is offline
Ghost Patrol
LS PLUS Supporting Membership


 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Rank: Colonel
Posts: 4,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRedBird View Post
I actually had to take the console off, then use some gorilla glue to hold the boot on from the underside of the console.
ooooo, no clip thing?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-12-2009, 03:29 PM
TheRedBird's Avatar
TheRedBird TheRedBird is offline
Gandhi


 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tallahassee, Fl
Rank: Master Sergeant
Posts: 1,192
Default

Well, I took the staple off the shift knob so I could get the console off. The shift knob boot clip thing is only on manuals
__________________

1995 Firebird V6.
SLP CAI, Flowmaster Catback...yup. Thats it.
Reply With Quote

Go Back   V6 F-Body.com > Rides, Modifications & Racing > How To's
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 - 2018 V6F-Body.com