Go Back   V6 F-Body.com > Technical Discussion > Internal Engine
Internal Engine Pistons | Rods | Crankshafts | Rebuilds | Swaps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2015, 02:06 AM
Nas Escobar's Avatar
Nas Escobar Nas Escobar is offline


 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Washington, DC
Rank: Private First Class
Posts: 346
Default Nas Escobar's engine swap

Well I think it's time I make a proper thread for this.

Backstory: My engine had a misfire since December, parked it, let winter go by, took off the cylinder head and saw a piston that didn't move.

Now with that said, I need to know if anyone here has done an S3 swap to where an S2 used to reside. I would like to know if the S3 is a direct bolt on with no modifications at all. I've been doing research on the topic for quite a while now and pretty much understand that everything that gets removed to do the LIMG would come off the Camaro and swap over to the FWD engine. I also understand that the oil filter is on an adapter for the Camaro and the oil pan is different. I also know everything that is driven by the accessory belt comes off the Camaro and onto the FWD engine. I also know my emissions stuff like the EGR will be going to the FWD engine.

Now what I don't know is a couple thigns...
  • Can I keep the FWD harmonic balancer?
  • Can i use the FWD flywheel or do I have to swap over the RWD one?
  • Did the trans bolt pattern change on S3? (Dumb question, but S3 was FWD only)
  • As far as sensors go, will my PCM have a PMS moment if any sensor on the Camaro doesn't swap over to the FWD block? (I've read something about having to do a "case relearn" if I swap over to S3 or something to that extent


Also, the big thing is that is there any real advantage to going over to S3 or staying in S2? If I get a FWD block, I want to get something recent, say 2005-2009ish. From what I gather, S2's last year was 2005 in the Impala/Monte Carlo but it had certain aspects of S3 (although I'm not sure if that was just the top end and not the block)


All help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2015, 09:43 AM
xpbr2000's Avatar
xpbr2000 xpbr2000 is offline
Droner
LS PLUS Supporting Membership
Administrator


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mooreville, MS
Rank: Freaky Poster
Posts: 11,433
Default

you'll have to swap a majority stuff. expect to only use the long block. snesor on the block are likely the same but the oil filter adapter and probably the HB will need to beswapped to the camaro rwd parts. the flywheel would probably be the same since it bolts to the crank. I don't see it being different but it could.
__________________

96 Camaro Cam'd anti-Coupe
Dyno'd @ 213 RWHP (NA)
"OperationX"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2015, 11:57 AM
Nas Escobar's Avatar
Nas Escobar Nas Escobar is offline


 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Washington, DC
Rank: Private First Class
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpbr2000 View Post
you'll have to swap a majority stuff. expect to only use the long block. snesor on the block are likely the same but the oil filter adapter and probably the HB will need to beswapped to the camaro rwd parts. the flywheel would probably be the same since it bolts to the crank. I don't see it being different but it could.
The HB? What's that?

Well I was reading up that they were different, but not too sure on that. I know the L67 and L36 were balanced differently, but I've also read up the Camaro's flywheel was thicker compared to the FWD ones. But of course, I like to confirm things since people write these things online but when the time comes, not everything that was written rings true.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2015, 12:03 PM
xpbr2000's Avatar
xpbr2000 xpbr2000 is offline
Droner
LS PLUS Supporting Membership
Administrator


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mooreville, MS
Rank: Freaky Poster
Posts: 11,433
Default

HB = harmonic balancer
__________________

96 Camaro Cam'd anti-Coupe
Dyno'd @ 213 RWHP (NA)
"OperationX"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2015, 03:25 PM
SlasherVRGR's Avatar
SlasherVRGR SlasherVRGR is offline
Now with 2 extra cylinders!?


 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NEPA
Rank: Sergeant Major
Posts: 1,486
Default

As for the bolt pattern the 3.4 and 3800 in fbodys use the fwd pattern.
__________________
93 Firebird M5 [RIP]
98 BPM Camaro M5 [RIP]
98 NBM Camaro Z28 A4 [LS1]

Mods: slp lid, borla adjustable catback, transgo kit, 3.73s, spohn tubular A arms..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2015, 09:56 PM
Nas Escobar's Avatar
Nas Escobar Nas Escobar is offline


 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Washington, DC
Rank: Private First Class
Posts: 346
Default

So there's 2 4L60s? I confuse lol

BTW I found an RWD 3800. Not too satisfied with the mileage (114k) but it will do for $500.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2015, 10:12 PM
fbodyrs96's Avatar
fbodyrs96 fbodyrs96 is offline
LTZ Turbo


 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Renton WA
Rank: Colonel
Posts: 4,173
Default

Why not upgrade to a series 3?
And the 4l60e is different form the 4l60.
Also all the 4th gen's use different 4l60e shafts and patterns, a ls won't work on a lt1, 3.8, 3.4 and vise versus, without a lot of work.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2015, 10:13 PM
fbodyrs96's Avatar
fbodyrs96 fbodyrs96 is offline
LTZ Turbo


 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Renton WA
Rank: Colonel
Posts: 4,173
Default

Only the 93 used the non e 4l60.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-22-2015, 02:02 AM
Nas Escobar's Avatar
Nas Escobar Nas Escobar is offline


 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Washington, DC
Rank: Private First Class
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fbodyrs96 View Post
Why not upgrade to a series 3?
And the 4l60e is different form the 4l60.
Also all the 4th gen's use different 4l60e shafts and patterns, a ls won't work on a lt1, 3.8, 3.4 and vise versus, without a lot of work.
Yeah, I know that part. I wasn't at home. I had actually forgotten to put the E after 0.

So yeah, I never realized that the 4L60E trans had different bolt patters. I'm used to FWD talk where the 4T65E from a W body can bolt on to an H body but the gear ratios would be different and the axles would be too.

Anyways, I didn't go S3 because the S2 fell into my lap basically. Plus I'm not going to be the one that pulls the engine out since I live in an apartment and all. I gave it to someone who has space to work on cars and well that person was just giving me too much shit about how "it may not work" or "it sounds too complicated". I just don't want to deal with it. I stress too easily. I still have ideas (maybe pipe dreams but who cares) for this car and if I ever get the funds, I'd probably go all out. I would love to turbo this car one day but that day won't come for a long long long L O N G time.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-22-2015, 09:33 AM
xpbr2000's Avatar
xpbr2000 xpbr2000 is offline
Droner
LS PLUS Supporting Membership
Administrator


 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mooreville, MS
Rank: Freaky Poster
Posts: 11,433
Default

well at least you have a good setup now to work. and a guy willing to help. sometimes thats worth the hassle.

good luck... post pics!!
__________________

96 Camaro Cam'd anti-Coupe
Dyno'd @ 213 RWHP (NA)
"OperationX"
Reply With Quote

Go Back   V6 F-Body.com > Technical Discussion > Internal Engine
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 - 2018 V6F-Body.com